GoFrogs: W. Tennis Earns 17th NCAA Championship Bid



GoFrogs: W. Tennis Earns 17th NCAA Championship Bid

FORT WORTH, Texas - The No. 35 TCU women’s tennis team received a bid to the NCAA Championships for the second straight season and 17th time in school history on Tuesday. The Horned Frogs (15-6) are the No. 3 seed in the four-team pod in Coral Gables, Fla., at the Neil Schiff Tennis Center on the campus of Miami and will take on No. 2 seed and No. 28 ranked Wichita State on May 13.

A win by TCU would set up a matchup with the winner of the match between No. 1 seed Miami and No. 4 seed Quinnipiac. The host Hurricanes have the No. 7 national seed going into the championships and the second round matchup will take place on May 14.

TCU is coming off an appearance in the semifinals of the 2016 Big 12 Tennis Championship for the second straight season. The Frogs reached six wins in league matches for the third time in four years in the Big 12. TCU has won four of the last six matches played and strung together nine consecutive victories during the season. Seda Arantekin and Caroline Wegner represent the only individual ranking for TCU with a No. 30 doubles ranking and the pair winning their last four straight matches and 21 overall this season.

Wichita State is making its 10th overall NCAA Tournament appearance with all of them coming in the last 11 years. The Shockers’ current No. 28 ranking is their highest-ever heading into the postseason. Wichita State recently won their eighth straight MVC title after going undefeated in conference action. The three losses the Shockers have suffered this season have been to No. 10 Texas A&M (4-3), No. 10 Oklahoma State (6-1) and No. 42 Arkansas (4-3).

The team to advance out of the Coral Gables Regional will compete in the NCAA Championship Team Finals held May 19 through 24 at the Michael D. Case Tennis Center in Tulsa, Okla., on the campus of Tulsa.

Tournament matches will be regulation dual matches with three (3) six-game doubles matches played for one team point, followed by six (6) singles matches, each valued at one team point, played in best-of-three sets. No-ad scoring will be used and a seven-point tiebreaker will be played at six-games-all. The team winning four or more team points advances in the championship bracket.

Individual fields for the NCAA singles and doubles championships will be announced Wednesday at 5 p.m.



Comments are closed.