GoFrogs: Men’s Tennis Seeded No. 4 for NCAAs



GoFrogs: Men’s Tennis Seeded No. 4 for NCAAs

FORT WORTH, Texas – The No. 5 TCU men’s tennis team was selected to appear in the NCAA Men’s Tennis Championship for the 27th time in program history Tuesday when this season’s full 64-team bracket was announced. The Horned Frogs earned the No. 4 seed and will host Rice, LSU and Jackson State from May 13-14 for the first and second rounds at the Bayard H. Friedman Tennis Center.

TCU (24-3) will take on the SWAC Champion Tigers (6-18) in the opening round and will also welcome the Rice Owls (23-7) and the LSU Tigers (14-11) in the Fort Worth Regional on the Bernard J. ‘Tut’ Bartzen Varsity Courts. The Frogs’ selection marked their third under the helm of head coach David Roditi and this marks the team’s second straight season earning a seed in the tournament and hosting the first and second rounds.

The Big 12 had all six teams make the NCAA field for the second time in conference history, with TCU being one of four league teams earning a national seed.

TCU is coming off winning the Big 12 regular season and tournament title for the first time in program history. The Frogs have won 19 of their last 20 matches and posted 22 wins over ranked opponents this season. Cameron Norrie was named Most Outstanding Performer of the 2016 Big 12 Championship while also being named to the All-Tournament team with Alex Rybakov and Trevor Johnson.

Jacksonville State won its fourth SWAC Championship by beating Alabama State, 4-1, on April 17. This was the program’s first conference title since 1998 and the first under first-year head coach Lois Alexis who was named 2016 SWAC Coach of the Year. Federico Boscarino was named SWAC Player of the Year after going 4-1 against conference opponents and posting 10 wins overall this season.

The team to advance out of the Fort Worth Regional will compete in the NCAA Championship Team Finals held May 19 through 24 at the Michael D. Case Tennis Center in Tulsa, Okla., on the campus of Tulsa.

Tournament matches will be regulation dual matches with three (3) six-game doubles matches played for one team point, followed by six (6) singles matches, each valued at one team point, played in best-of-three sets. No-ad scoring will be used and a seven-point tiebreaker will be played at six-games-all. The team winning four or more team points advances in the championship bracket.

Individual fields for the NCAA singles and doubles championships will be announced Wednesday at 5 p.m.



Comments are closed.